Cllr Jenny Flood sworn in as Chesterfield’s latest Mayor – with a celebration parade on 11 May

Councillor Jenny Flood has begun her term of office as Chesterfield’s 383rd Mayor, taking over the position as the borough’s civic head for the coming year.

Councillor Flood was sworn in at Chesterfield Borough Council’s Annual Council Meeting on Wednesday 8 May, with a Civic Parade on Saturday 11 May.

Councillor Flood’s friend and Community Liaison Officer Heather Hopkinson takes on the role of Mayoress. Cllr Barry Dyke has been appointed as Deputy Mayor with his with wife Marie Dyke serving as Deputy Mayoress.

Chesterfield residents are invited to come and celebrate Chesterfield’s new Mayor at the annual Civic Parade which will take place from 10.15am on Saturday 11 May in the town centre.

Councillor Flood, said: “It is a wonderful honour to be Chesterfield’s Mayor, I look forward to getting around the borough and meeting local residents and celebrating our community. I’m also pleased to be able to use my position to raise funds for three incredible charities that do amazing work in our community.” 

The Mayor’s Appeal will be raising funds for Derbyshire Law Centre, Chesterfield Royal Charity, supporting staff’s Health and Well Being post Covid and Rural Action Derbyshire’s Feeding Chesterfield initiative.

The Civic Parade is an opportunity to celebrate the new Mayor. The parade will leave from the Town Hall on Rose Hill at 10.40am and will head through the town centre to the Church of St Mary and All Saints (Crooked Spire) where there will be a service at 11am.  At noon the parade will return to the Town Hall.

There will be several dignitaries from across Derbyshire in attendance at the parade, along with Freemen, Aldermen, and former Mayors of Chesterfield, and groups such as the Royal British Legion and uniformed youth organisations.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the parade and church service, with seats being allocated on a first come, first served basis.

Councillor Flood replaces Councillor Mick Brady and Councillor Suzie Perkins who served as Mayor and Mayoress for the 2023 to 2024 civic year.

First published on 09 May 2024 Last updated on 09 May 2024