Electoral Boundary Review

Electoral Boundary Review

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England published their final proposals following a review of Chesterfield Borough Council’s electoral boundaries on the 2 August 2022.

The Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. The aim was to create wards so that each councillor represents about the same number of electors, whilst also ensuring the ward reflect community ties and identities.  

Final recommendations for Chesterfield were published following three consultations, where 84 submissions from local residents and organisations helped shape the recommendations.

Changes will be formally introduced for the May 2023 elections.The proposals were laid before Parliament, in December 2022 and you can read the full legislation on the Government website.

New Chesterfield Ward Boundaries

The final recommendations include:

  • Chesterfield Borough Council will have 40 councillors, eight fewer than at present
  • The number of wards will reduce by three to 16
  • The boundaries of all but one ward will change and names will change to reflect this
  • There will be eight two councillor wards and eight three councillor wards
  •  Each councillor will represent on average 2,108 constituents

The final recommendations, supporting maps and summary can be found in detail on the Local Government Boundary Commission for England website.

Last updated on 12 January 2023