Your councillors

Your councillors

The council is made up of 40 councillors elected every four years. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their area, known as a ward.

Councillors usually belong to a political party, and while they represent the interests of all residents in the borough, they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

The leader of the council is Tricia Gilby, the deputy leader of the council is Amanda Serjeant.

Councillors have to agree to follow a code of conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties. The Standards and Audit Committee trains and advises councillors on the code of conduct.

The Chesterfield area is also covered by other councils: Derbyshire County Council and two parish councils, Brimington Parish Councils and Staveley Town Council. We are required to publish information about registered interests of the councillors serving on the parish councils. Find out more here for more information.

Last updated on 17/10/2023